Friday, November 14, 2008

2008 Oregon Book Awards Winners!

Literary Arts is pleased to announce the winners of the 2008 Oregon Book Awards. From nearly 125 entries, the seven winners were announced by Oregon author John Daniel to a sold-out crowd of more than 500 people on Sunday, November 9 at the Portland Art Museum. In addition, special awards were presented to Barry Lopez of Finn Rock, Marlene Howard of Portland and Young Writers Association of Eugene for outstanding contributions to Oregon's literary community.

Angus L. Bowmer Award for Drama
Steve Patterson of Portland
Lost Wavelengths

Stafford/Hall Award for Poetry
Penelope Scambly Schott of Portland
A is for Anne: Mistress Hutchinson Disturbs the Commonwealth (Turning Point)

Ken Kesey Award for Fiction
Ehud Havazelet of Corvallis
Bearing the Body (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

Frances Fuller Victor Award for General Nonfiction
Steven W. Bender of Portland
One Night in America: Robert Kennedy, Cesar Chavez, and the Dream of Dignity(Paradigm Publishers)

Sarah Winnemucca Award for Creative Nonfiction
Lauren Kessler of Eugene
Dancing With Rose: Finding Life in the Land of Alzheimer's (Viking Adult)

Eloise Jarvis McGraw Award for Children's Literature
Elizabeth Rusch of Portland
A Day With No Crayons (Rising Moon)

Leslie Bradshaw Award for Young Adult Literature
The judge declared a tie in this category

Sara Ryan of Portland
The Rules for Hearts (Viking Juvenile)

Linda Zuckerman of Portland
A Taste for Rabbit (Arthur A. Levine Books)

A program of Literary Arts, the Oregon Book Awards are presented annually for the finest accomplishments by Oregon writers who work in genres of poetry, fiction, literary nonfiction, drama and young readers literature. All finalists are promoted in libraries and bookstores across the state, and invited to take part in the Oregon Book Awards Author Tour. The tour brings public readings by finalists to a number of locations throughout Oregon including:

Eugene, January 20, 2009

North Bend, January 21, 2009

For more information, please visit

The Oregon Book Awards program is sponsored by the Oregon Cultural Trust, The Oregonian and the National Endowment for the Arts. Additional support is provided by Brian & Gwyneth Booth, Betty Bradshaw, Leslie Bradshaw Endowment, The Collins Foundation, Rocky & Julie Dixon, Gard Communications, Gray Family Fund of The Oregon Community Foundation, The Heathman Hotel, Robert & Cecelia Huntington, Keller Foundation, Maybelle Clark Macdonald Fund, Mancini Family, Walt Morey Endowment Fund, Multnomah County Library, Oregon Arts Commission, Oregon Center for the Book at the Oregon State Library, Oregon Writers' Endowment, Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association, Regional Arts & Culture Council, Rick & Halle Sadle, Rose E. Tucker Charitable Trust, U.S. Bank, Vibrant Table Catering and Work for Art.

No comments: